2017-18 Big Bash League – Teams

Big Bash League Logo

The Big Bash League is Australian cricket’s fast and furious domestic Twenty20 cricket competition, now preparing for its seventh season after the competition commenced in 2011. The 2017-18 Big Bash League season will be contested by eight teams, with each set to play an increased ten games.

The tournament begins late December and concludes with the final on Saturday, February 4 while the final round game is on Saturday, January 27.

The eight teams that contest the Big Bash League competition are: Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Adelaide Strikers

After back-to-back minor premierships and semi-final exits, the Strikers struggled to remain consistent in the 2016-17 season, slumping down the ladder, losing some crucial games and finishing in sixth.

Adelaide Strikers squad

Brisbane Heat
Brisbane Heat logo

The Brisbane Heat finished in the top four for the first time since they won the compeition in 2012-13 last season, but couldn’t get it done when it counted, being bounced out of the semi-finals. That was despite winning the right to a home final, as the Sydney Sixers knocked them over.

Brisbane Heat squad

Hobart Hurricanes
Hobart Hurricanes logo

The Hurricanes put on a weak showing in the 2016-17 season, finishing seventh. It means they have missed the finals three seasons in a row.

Hobart Hurricanes squad

Melbourne Renegades
Melbourne Renegades logo

The ‘little brother’ team to the Stars, the Melbourne Renegades haven’t had a lot of success so far and that continued last year. They finished in fifth, missing the finals for the fourth straight time. The men in red have only made the semi-finals once, way back in 2012-2013.

Melbourne Renegades squad

Melbourne Stars
Melbourne Stars logo

Run by Eddie McGuire and known for signing big name players, the Melbourne Stars are the glamour side in Melbourne. They have never missed the finals, but have been known to fall short, never winning the competition and crashing out in the semi-finals on five occasions, including last year.

Melbourne Stars squad

Perth Scorchers
Perth Scorchers logo

The most successful club in the history of the Big Bash, the Scorchers have never missed the semi-finals, and only missed one final. After finishing as runners-up to the Sydney Sixers and Brisbane Heat in the first two seasons, they won two straight, then missed their first final in 2015-16.

They were back to their best last year though, winning the final against the Sixers.

Perth Scorchers squad

Sydney Sixers

The Sydney Sixers are perceived as the bigger club in Sydney, generally carrying a host of Australian international stars. It sometimes means they struggle for depth, but the club have made four finals for one victory, including going down in the final to the Perth Scorchers last year.

Sydney Sixers squad

Sydney Thunder

After winning three wooden spoons in a row during the first three editions of the Big Bash, the Sydney Thunder climbed their way off the bottom of the table in the fourth edition. That was before they turned things around in 2015-16, giving their long-suffering supporters something to cheer about by making the semi-finals. They then went on to cause a pair of upsets and win the tournament.

The men in lime green slumped back to claim a fourth wooden spoon last year though.

Sydney Thunder squad

Last updated: 13 September, 2017